Enjoy A 10% Discount On Your First Order
  • Home
  • The Wisdom of Vasistha (A Study of Laghu Yoga Vasistha from a Seeker's Point of View)
The Wisdom of Vasistha (A Study of Laghu Yoga Vasistha from a Seeker's Point of View)

The Wisdom of Vasistha (A Study of Laghu Yoga Vasistha from a Seeker's Point of View)



  • Dimensions:8.8' X 5.8'
  • Edition:2018
  • Author:Raghunandan
  • Publisher:Motilal Banarsidass Publishers Pvt. Ltd.
  • ISBN:9788120820432
  • Cover Type:Hardcover
  • Number of Pages:545
  • From the Jacket:

    Yogavasistha or Yogavasistha Maharamayana has been a guide book to earnest Sadhakas, all over the country. The popularity of this book appears to be due to the fact, that it is a happy combination of terse Upanisadic thought clothed in the story form. A scripture becomes relevant, when it gives the truths of the Upanisads, using a common man's language with illustrative stories, helps a beginner as well as an advanced seeker.

    It is believed by some that Sage Valmiki wrote the Ramayana for the purification of mind and to create a mood of seeking in the society. It is well known, that the story of Sri Rama, gives an exemplary ethical and moral behaviour in an individual, and a glimpse into the ideal culture, through the description of Ayodhya. For only on a strong ethical and moral foundation can one hope to build the super-structure of spirituality.

    Attempt has been made to cover all the stories in six Prakaranas. This book is a study by a seeker, and an attempt to present the philosophy, and practical hints contained in the book, to fellow seekers who are not very familiar with Sanskrit. It is essentially meant for inspiring the seekers to take up the study of the original text, which is a mine of practical wisdom. The essays contained herein, are glimpses into the meditations on the golden verses and their connection and relevance in our day-to-day life. Consequently, the interpretation and the perspective is not really meant for scholastic pursuits.

    About the Author:

    Born in 1949 at Sirsi, in Northern Karnataka, Raghunandan was introduced to Sri Ramakrishna Vivekananda literature and to spirituality in his Pre University year, at his material uncle's place at Puttur (south Karnataka). He completed his B.Tech. in Chemical Engineering from the Regional Engineering College, Warangal, Andhra Pradesh. During the professional course he came in contact with Swami Ranganathananda, the then President of Sri Ramakrishna Math, Hyderabad (presently the President of Sri Ramakrishna Math and Mission, Belur, West Bengal) who gave him a glimpse into an alternate way to life. He decided to plunge into a life devoted to spirituality, after working in a Paper Industry in Tamil Nadu for a couple of Years. During this period he had the good future to visit the banks of the Narmada and meet the experienced wise and seekers, who clarified many of his fundamental doubts. The experience finally made him join Vivekananda Kendra - a spiritually oriented service mission in 1976. He worked as its Zonal Organiser, Organising Secretary and Joint General Secretary. He got married to Vasantha, in 1981. Presently, both of them are working for the Ramarpan Education Society, which is running a senior Secondary School at Hurda in Rajasthan.


    Preface ix

    Vairagya Prakarana
    1. Origin of Disinterest 3
    2. The Limitations of the World 11
    3. The Story of Suka

    Mumuksu Prakarana
    1. The Conduct of a Seeker

    Utpatti Prakarana
    1. The Story of Akasaja 41
    2. The Story of Lila 53
    3. The Story of Karkati 65
    4. The Story of Aindavas 76
    5. The Story of Indra 85
    6. The Story of Manas 94
    7. The Story of Lad 104
    8. The Story of Siddha 112
    9. The Story of Lavana - I 120
    10. The Story of Lavana - II

    Sthiti Prakarana
    1. The Story of Sukra 145
    2. The Story of Dama, Vyala and Kata 157
    3. The Story of Bhima, Bhasa and Drdha 167
    4. The Story of Dasura 175
    5. The Story of Kaca 185
    6. Conclusion of Sthiti Prakarana

    Upasama Prakarana
    1. The Story of King Janaka 201
    2. The Story of Punya and Pavana 213
    3. The Story of Bali the Great 223
    4. The Story of Prahlada 233
    5. The Story of Gadhi 245
    6. The Story of Uddalaka 256
    7. The Story of Suraghu 270
    8. The Dialogue between Bhasa and Vilasa 282
    9. The Story of Vitahavya 291
    10. The Conclusion of Upasama Prakarana

    Nirvana Prakarana
    1. The Story of Bhusunda 323
    2. The Story of Deva Puja (Worship of the Divine) 334
    3. The Story of Bilva Fruit 343
    4. The Story of Sila (Granite) 351
    5. The Story of Arjuna 359
    6. The Story of the Hundred Rurdas 370
    7. The Story of Vetala 378
    8. The Story of Bhagiratha 387
    9. The Story of Cudala 395
    10. The Story of Sikhidhvaja-I 409
    11. The Story of Sikhidhvaja-II 425
    12. The Story of Kaca 435
    13. The Story of Mithyapurusa 441
    14. The Story of Bhrngisa 450
    15. The Story of Iksvaku 458
    16. The Story of a Muni and a Hunter 468
    17. The Seven Stages of Yoga - I 477
    18. The Seven Stages of Yoga - II

    Conclusion 497
    Appendix: Sanskrit Verses 507
    Index 519

    Free Shipping. Delivered by to all international destinations within 3 to 5 days, fully insured.

Additional Information


Customer Reviews

No reviews yet