Enjoy A 10% Discount On Your First Order


  • SKU: NAG887
  • Availability: in stock Many in stock Out of stock You can purchase this product but it's out of stock
  • Publishers: Scholastic India Pvt. Ltd.
  • Barcode:


  • Dimensions:8.5 inch X 5.5 inch
  • Edition:2013
  • Author:Soma Gupta
  • Publisher:Scholastic India Pvt. Ltd.
  • ISBN:9789351030157
  • Cover Type:Hardcover
  • Number of Pages:492
  • About the Book

    How much can one lose in a game of dice? If the stakes are high enough a game can cost a king his kingdom and a dynasty its heirs. Mahabharata Part 1: The Game begins with the birth of Bhishma, the grand patriarch of the Kuru clan, and follows the destinies of the Pandavs and Kauravs, until it becomes clear that war between them is inevitable.

    The Pandavs and Kauravs are pulled into the vortex of a war that divides a family, and pits ever nation against the other. Mahabharata Part 2: The War begins with the Pandavs’ council of war and traces the bloody conflict with its stories of bravery, loyalty and deceit, right up to the final battle. But can there trulu be a victor in a war where everuthinq is lost?

    About the Author

    Soma Guha (1962-2006) was born and educated in Kolkata. After graduating from Jadavpur University, she worked as a journalist for almost fifteen years, initially with The Telegraph in Kolkata and then with The Pioneer in New Delhi. She was a prolific feature writer, who also wrote on films, television and the arts. She left behind unfinished, what had for long been her labour of love, a fictional narrative centred on the life of the Mughal prince Doro Shukoh.


    Part 1: The Game
    The Promise 9
    Children of Revenge 17
    Young Men in Arms 39
    House of Wax , 55
    Where the Arrow Goes 79
    The Emperor 108
    Hall of Games 125
    Raging Forests 147
    Games Gods Play 179
    Disguises 190
    Action in Anonymity 194
    Disclosure 224
    Part 2: The War
    Winds of War 229
    The Last Call for Peace 244
    Operation Kurukshetra 265
    The Vision 272
    Day One: Sons of Virat 280
    Day Two: Arjun 285
    Day Three: Krishna 290
    Day Five: Shikhandin 301
    Day Six: Dhrishtadyumna 305
    Day Seven: Face-Offs 309
    Day ‘Eight: Iravan 314
    Day Nine: Krishna 319
    Day Ten: Bhishma 323
    Day Eleven: Yudhishthir 334
    Day Twelve: Bhagadatta 338
    Day Thirteen: Abhimanyu 348
    Day Fourteen: Jayadrath 363
    Day Fifteen: Drona 393
    Day Sixteen: Bheem 399
    Day Seventeen: Karna 405
    Last Command 428
    Day Eighteen: Duryodhan 431
    Daybreak 449
    Portraits of Grief 454
    A King’s Dilemma 464
    The Old Order Passeth 468
    In Celebration of Victory 471
    Strength of Solitude 477
    The End of the Yadavs 481
    Climbing the Mountain 485
    From Hell to Heaven 489

    Sample Pages

Additional Information


Customer Reviews

No reviews yet