Enjoy A 10% Discount On Your First Order
  • Home
  • Kashmir Saivaism (Shaivism)
Kashmir Saivaism (Shaivism)

Kashmir Saivaism (Shaivism)

  • SKU: IDF405
  • Availability: in stock Many in stock Out of stock You can purchase this product but it's out of stock
  • Publishers: Parimal Publication Pvt. Ltd.
  • Barcode:


  • Dimensions:8.8' X 5.8'
  • Edition:2004
  • Author:J. C. Chatterji
  • Publisher:Parimal Publication Pvt. Ltd.
  • ISBN:8171100171
  • Cover Type:Hardcover
  • Number of Pages:170

  • From the Jacket:

    J. C. Chatteji's Kashmir Saivaism is an important and unique treatise on Saiva Philosophy that prevailed in Kashmir and still practised in different parts of India. The beginnings of 'Kashmir Saivaism' could be traced from Siva Sutras and its commentary by Ksemaraja. Its teachings and practices are given, in the literature of the system, the distinctive name of Trika-sasana, Trika-Sastra or simply Trika; and are often referred to as the Rahasya-Sampradaya, while Saivaism in general is spoken of as Siva-Sasana or Sivagama. The peculiarity of the Trika consists in the fact that, as a system of philosophy, it is a type of idealistic monism (advaita), and as such differs in of Saiva Philosophy, for instance, from what is described under the name of the Saiva Darsana in the Sarva-Darsana-Sangraha of Madhavacarya.
    This book provides an insight of the form of Saivaism developed in Kashmir starting from its History. The entire book in divided into two parts-1) Kashmir Saivaism's History and Literature, 2) The Main Doctrines of the System. The book also works as a basis for comparative study of various forms of Saivaism.


      Part I  
      History and Literature 1-40
      Part II  
      The main doctrines of the system 47-170
      The Atman 47
      The Process of Manifestation 59
      The Transcendent Parama Siva 67
      A. The Universal Experience  
      I. Five Principles of the Universal Subject-Object  
    1. The Siva Tattva 68
    2. The Sakti Tattva 69
    3. The Sadakhya Tattva 71
    4. The Aisvara Tattva 75
    5. The Sad-Vidya 77
      B. The Limited Individual Experience  
      II. Maya and her progeny  
    6-11. The six Kancukas 81
      III. Two Principles of the limited individual subject-object  
    12. The Purusa 89
    13. The Prakrti and the Gunas 93
      IV. Principles of mental Operation  
    14-16. Buddhi, Ahankara and Manas 98
    17-31. The five senses, five powers of action and five general objects of sense perception. 122
    32-36. The Five Bhutas 133

    Sample Pages

Additional Information


Customer Reviews

No reviews yet